< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CWC 2023: England v New Zealand Match 1 - Conway, Ravindra demolish England in opening game

New Zealand's Devon Conway and Rachin Ravindra hit the first centuries of the Cricket World Cup on Thursday in the opening match of the tournament against England.

Match Summary

England vs New Zealand, 1st Match, ICC Cricket World Cup

England 282/9 (50 ov)

New Zealand 283/1 (36.2 ov)

Result - New Zealand won by 9 wickets


Left-handed opener Conway made his fifth ODI ton off 83 balls studded with 13 fours and two sixes at the world's biggest cricket stadium in Ahmedabad.

Fellow left-hander Ravindra soon followed with his maiden ODI century off 82 balls with nine fours and four sixes.

Set 283 to win by the defending champions, New Zealand lost Will Young for a duck in the second over of the chase but Conway and Ravindra took on the opposition bowlers with a string of boundaries and built a partnership of over 200.

The 13th edition of the World Cup has 10 teams and will run for 45 days in 10 Indian cities with the final in Ahmedabad on November 19.

Match Stats

England Fall of wickets: 1-40 (Dawid Malan - 7.4 ov), 2-64 (Jonny Bairstow - 12.5 ov), 3-94 (Harry Brook - 16.6 ov), 4-118 (Moeen Ali - 21.2 ov), 5-188 (Jos Buttler - 33.2 ov), 6-221 (Liam Livingstone - 38.5 ov), 7-229 (Joe Root - 41.1 ov), 8-250 (Chris Woakes - 44.6 ov), 9-252 (Sam Curran - 45.4 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Will Young - 1.1 ov)

Playing XIs

England: Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler(WK/C), Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(WK/C), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Mitchell Santner, Jimmy Neesham, Trent Boult


Match Details:

Date: Thursday, October 5, 2023 09:30

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Toss: New Zealand elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena(Sri Lanka), Nitin Menon(India), Paul Wilson(Australia TV)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath(India)

© CricDirect 2023