< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Perfect build-up for Australia with 14 run win over Pakistan

Australia's Glenn Maxwell  (77)
Australia's Glenn Maxwell (77)

Australia will enter the ICC Men's World Cup on the back of a 14 run win over Pakistan in their second and final warm-up game at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Match Summary

Australia: 351-7 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-83 (David Warner-12.2 ov), 2-92 (Mitchell Marsh-14.1 ov), 3-151 (Marnus Labuschagne-23.2 ov), 4-153 (Steven Smith-24.1 ov), 5-172 (Alex Carey-29.1 ov), 6-255 (Glenn Maxwell-40.5 ov), 7-338 (Josh Inglis-48.5 ov)

Pakistan: 337 (47.4)
Fall of wickets: 
1-35 (Imam-ul-Haq-5.1 ov), 2-47 (Fakhar Zaman-6.4 ov), 3-62 (Abdullah Shafique-11.3 ov), 4-83 (Shadab Khan-14.6 ov), 5-227 (Iftikhar Ahmed-31.4 ov), 6-269 (Agha Salman-37.6 ov), 7-301 (Usama Mir-41.5 ov), 8-326 (Mohammad Nawaz-45.6 ov), 9-337 (Hasan Ali-47.4 ov) 


Australia after opting to bat posted 351 for seven in their 50 overs and in their response Pakistan finished on 337 in 47.4 overs.

Earlier, Australia began well as their openers David Warner and Mitchell Marsh added 83 for the first wicket. Then there was a 59 run third wicket stand between Marnus Labuschange (40) and Steven Smith. There was bit of a collapse as Australia slipped to 172 for five. Thereafter a 83 run sixth wicket stand between Glenn Maxwell and Cameron Green put the innings back on track. Maxwell (77: 71b, 4x4, 6x6) was particularly aggressive. Green (50 n.o.: 40b, 4x4, 1x6) then teamed up with Josh Inglis (48) to take the score forward. Australia finished on 351 for seven in their 50 overs. For Pakistan the best bowler was Usama Mir (2-31).

In their response Pakistan was reduced to 83 for four in 15 overs. It then required a 144 run stand for the fifth wicket between skipper Babar Azam and Iftikhar Ahmed. Ahmed made 83 off 85 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. Azam decided to retire with his score on 90 off 59 balls with 11 boundaries and two sixes. Then Mohammad Nawaz used the long handle to effect to make 50 off 42 balls with six boundaries and a six. In the end Pakistan fell short by 14 runs as they made 337 in 47.4 overs. 

Playing XIs (from):
Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Haris (wicket-keeper), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan (captain), Usama Mir, Mohammad Rizwan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Australia: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Matthew Short, Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Travis Head, Adam Zampa 

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to bat
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
Start time: 0830 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Brown, Paul Reiffel (On-field Umpires); Adrian Holdstock (TV Umpire); Rod Tucker (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)

©CricDirect 2023