< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CWC 23 Match 45: Iyer, Rahul tons keep India perfect as Kohli, Rohit take World Cup wickets

Centuries from Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul powered India to a 160-run World Cup win over the Netherlands on Sunday as they completed the group stage with a perfect nine wins in nine games.

Match Summary

India vs Netherlands, ICC Cricket World Cup

India 410/4 (50 ov)

Netherlands 250/10 (47.5 ov)

Result - India won by 160 runs.


Iyer (128 not out) and Rahul (102) put on 208 runs to guide India to 410-4.

India then employed nine bowlers, including part-timers Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, to dismiss the Dutch for 250 in the tournament's concluding league match in Bengaluru.

The hosts will face New Zealand in the first semi-final in Mumbai on Wednesday followed by the second last-four clash between Australia and South Africa the next day in Kolkata.

Iyer smashed his first World Cup ton in a match where all the top-five Indian batsmen went past the fifty mark on a batting-friendly pitch.

He reached his hundred -- his fourth in ODI cricket -- off 84 balls. He ended with 10 fours and five sixes.

Bengaluru-born Rahul raced to his ton with two sixes for the fastest Indian hundred in World Cups off 62 balls.

He departed four balls later as India fell short of their highest ever World Cup total of 413-5 v Bermuda in 2007.

Kohli reached his half century but fell for 51, silencing the crowd who had been anticipating the star batsman's 50th ODI ton after he equalled Sachin Tendulkar's record of 49 in the team's previous win over South Africa.

Skipper Rohit, who hit 61, and Shubman Gill laid the foundations for the total in an opening stand of 100 with the pair hitting regular boundaries.


Match Stats

India: 410-4 (50)

Fall of wickets: 1-100 (Shubman Gill-11.5 ov), 2-129 (Rohit Sharma-17.4 ov), 3-200 (Virat Kohli-28.4 ov), 4-408 (KL Rahul-49.5 ov)

Netherlands 250/10 (47.5 ov)

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Wesley Barresi-1.3 ov), 2-66 (Colin Ackermann-12.1 ov), 3-72 (Max O'Dowd-15.1 ov), 4-111 (Scott Edwards-24.3 ov), 5-144 (Bas de Leede-31.6 ov), 6-172 (Sybrand Engelbrecht-37.3 ov), 7-208 (Logan van Beek-42.1 ov), 8-225 (Roelof van der Merwe-43.4 ov), 9-236 (Aryan Dutt-46.1 ov)

Playing XI




Match Details:

Date: Sunday, November 12, 2023 08:30

Venue: M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Toss: India elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) Michael Gough (England) Joel Wilson (West Indies TV)

Match Referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies)

© CricDirect 2023