< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Women's Premier League 2024 Match 15: UP Warriorz UPset Delhi Capitals in 1 run heist

Deepti Sharma 4/19 and 59 for UP Warriorz
Deepti Sharma 4/19 and 59 for UP Warriorz

UP Warriorz won a nail-biter against Delhi Capitals, in the Women's Premier League (WPL) 2024, winning by just one run at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, today.

Match Summary

Delhi Capitals Women 137/10 (19.5 ov)

UP Warriorz 138/8 (20 ov)

UP Warriorz won by 1 run


Match Report

Asked to bowl first, Delhi restricted UP to 138 for eight. In their response Delhi folded in the face of a magnificent bowling performance by UP.

UP Warriorz lost Kiran Navgire early but after that skipper Alyssa Healy (29:30b, 5x4) and Deepti Sharma (59:48b, 6x4, 1x6) added 46 runs for the second wicket and revived the innings. However, after that, nothing went their way as they lost wickets in clusters and were under pressure. They managed just 138 for eight as Delhi bowlers were all over them. Titas Sadhu bagged two wickets whereas Radha Yadav also bagged two scalps.

Meg Lanning (60:46b, 12x4) took Delhi off to a great start in the chase despite losing Shafali Verma and Alice Capsey early. Jemimah Rodrigues (17:15b, 1x6) also chipped in with a handy contribution but after her wicket, Delhi lost early wickets and was tumbling at 128 for seven. However, Jess Jonassen (11: 5b, 1x4, 1x6) and Radha Yadav (9:4b, 1x6) kept Delhi in the game but they lost their wickets in the final over. With two runs needed off two balls with one wicket in hand, Grace Harris removed Titas Sadhu to win the game for her team from the jaws of defeat. Delhi were bundled out for 137 and lost the game by just one run.

Match Stats

UP Warriorz Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Kiran Prabhu Navgire - 1.2 ov), 2-56 (Alyssa Healy - 8.4 ov), 3-62 (Tahlia McGrath - 9.5 ov), 4-95 (Grace Harris - 13.5 ov), 5-100 (Shweta Sehrawat - 14.3 ov), 6-101 (Poonam Khemnar - 15.1 ov), 7-116 (Sophie Ecclestone - 16.6 ov), 8-135 (Deepti Sharma - 19.4 ov)

Delhi Capitals Women Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Shafali Verma - 3.4 ov), 2-69 (Alice Capsey - 10.6 ov), 3-93 (Meg Lanning - 13.6 ov), 4-112 (Jemimah Rodrigues - 17.1 ov), 5-124 (Annabel Sutherland - 18.1 ov), 6-124 (Arundhati Reddy - 18.2 ov), 7-128 (Shikha Pandey - 18.4 ov), 8-137 (Radha Yadav - 19.3 ov), 9-137 (Jess Jonassen - 19.4 ov), 10-137 (Titas Sadhu - 19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals Women 

UP Warriorz 

Match Details

Date: Friday, March 8, 2024 14:00

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Toss: UP Warriorz elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Mohamed Rafi (India) Parashar Joshi (India) Gayathri Venugopalan (India TV)

Match Referee: Meenakshi Mangla (India)

© CricDirect 2024