< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Royal Challengers Bangalore triumph over Gujarat Giants to claim top spot in Women’s Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore continued their victorious streak in the second season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) by dominating Gujarat Giants, securing an eight-wicket win and claiming the leading position on the table.

The fifth game at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru saw Bangalore restricting Gujarat to just 107 for seven and they then chased the target in just 12.3 overs.

Gujarat lost skipper Beth Mooney early and after that wickets fell like a pack of cards. Harleen Deol (22:31b, 3x3) tried to hold the fort. They were reduced to 70 for five and were under immense pressure. Dayalan Hemalatha (31 not out:25b, 2x4, 1x6) then made sure she took her team to the end of 20 overs. Her valiant effort in the end powered her side to 107 for seven. For Bangalore, Sophie Molineux picked three wickets, while Renuka Singh bagged two scalps.

Although Bangalore lost Sophie Devine early, skipper Smriti Mandhana (43:27b, 8x4, 1x6) and Sabbhineni Meghana (36 not out: 28b, 5x4, 1x6) repaired the damage. They added 40 runs before the captain perished. Ellyse Perry (23 not out:14b, 4x4) played a brutal hand in the end and powered her side to a comfortable eight wicket victory.

Match Summary

5th Match, Women's Premier League

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women 110/2 (12.3 ov)

Gujarat Giants Women 107/7 (20 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women won by 8 wickets



Match Stats

Gujarat Giants Women Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Beth Mooney - 2.3 ov), 2-30 (Phoebe Litchfield - 6.2 ov), 3-45 (Veda Krishnamurthy - 10.2 ov), 4-50 (Harleen Deol - 10.6 ov), 5-70 (Ashleigh Gardner - 15.1 ov), 6-73 (Kathryn Bryce - 16.1 ov), 7-98 (Sneh Rana - 18.6 ov)

RCB Women Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Sophie Devine - 3.2 ov), 2-72 (Smriti Mandhana - 8.4 ov)

Playing XI



Match Details

Date - 2024-02-27 14:00:00

Venue - M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Toss - Royal Challengers Bangalore Women elected to bowl

Umpires - Mohamed Rafi (India), Parashar Joshi (India), Gayathri Venugopalan (India TV)

© CricDirect 2024