< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2024 Match 43: Delhi Capitals edge Mumbai Indians in high scoring thriller

Delhi Capitals beat Mumbai Indians by 10 runs in a high scoring thriller today, at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Match Summary

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, Match 43

Delhi Capitals 257/4 (20 ov)

Mumbai Indians 247/9 (20 ov)

Delhi Capitals won by 10 runs.


Match Highlights

Asked to bat, Delhi posted a total of 257 for four, in response Mumbai gave their best and scored 247 for nine. 

It was a Jake Fraser-McGurk (84:27b, 11x4, 6x6) show with the bat upfront as he went after Mumbai Indians bowlers right from the start, ensuring his team gets a brutal start in power play. The Australia batter added a 114-run opening partnership with Abishek Porel (37:27b, 3x4, 1x6) as Delhi made Mumbai bowlers look clueless. Shai Hope (41:17b, 5x6) and Rishabh Pant (29:19b, 2x4, 2x6) too played vital hands for the team. Tristan Stubbs (48 not out:25b, 6x4, 2x6) finished the innings on a high. Based on the sensational effort with the bat, Delhi posted a gigantic total of 257 for four. For Mumbai, Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of one for 35.

In the chase, Mumbai didn’t have a great outing with the bat. They first lost Rohit Sharma and after that wickets fell quickly. Ishan Kishan (20:14b, 4x4) and Suryakumar Yadav (26:13b, 3x4, 2x6) perished after starts as Mumbai was left tottering at 65 for three.  After that, Tilak Varma and skipper Hardik Pandya (46:24b, 4x4, 3x6) kept the team in the hunt with their 71-run stand but Rasikh Salam brought Delhi back with two wickets in one over. There was a twist in the tale again as Tim David (37:17b, 2x4, 3x6) along with Varma (63:32b, 4x4, 4x6) brought Mumbai back into the game. Varma gave his best and took the match to the last over but unfortunately got run out as Mumbai fell short by 10 runs. For Delhi, Rasikh Salam was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of three for 34. 

Match Stats

Delhi Capitals Fall of wickets: 1-114 (Jake Fraser McGurk - 7.3 ov), 2-127 (Abishek Porel - 9.4 ov), 3-180 (Shai Hope - 13.4 ov), 4-235 (Rishabh Pant - 18.1 ov)

Mumbai Indians Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Rohit Sharma - 3.1 ov), 2-45 (Ishan Kishan - 4.1 ov), 3-65 (Suryakumar Yadav - 5.6 ov), 4-136 (Hardik Pandya - 12.3 ov), 5-140 (Nehal Wadhera - 12.5 ov), 6-210 (Tim David - 17.4 ov), 7-223 (Mohammad Nabi - 18.3 ov), 8-234 (Tilak Varma - 19.1 ov), 9-247 (Piyush Chawla - 19.6 ov)



Playing XI

Delhi Capitals 

Mumbai Indians 



Match Details:

Date: Saturday, April 27, 2024 11:00

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Toss: Mumbai Indians elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Navdeep Singh(India) Nikhil Patwardhan(India) Jayaraman Madanagopal(India TV)

Match Referee: Narayanan Kutty(India)

© CricDirect 2024