< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2024 Match 42: Punjab Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders in record run chase

Punjab Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets in a record run chase, in Match 42 IPL 2024, at Eden Gardens, Kolkata today

Match Summary

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings, Match 42

Kolkata Knight Riders 261/6 (20 ov)

Punjab Kings 262/2 (18.4 ov)

Punjab Kings won by 8 wickets



Match Highlights

Asked to bat, Kolkata posted a total of 261 for six, in response, Punjab chased the target with eight balls to spare. 

Kolkata were off to a dream start with the bat. Phil Salt (75:37b, 6x4, 6x6) and Sunil Narine (71:32b, 9x4, 4x6) came out all guns blazing and set the stage on fire. They added 138 runs for the opening partnership and laid a great platform for the power-hitters. After that, Venkatesh Iyer (39:23b, 3x4, 2x6) played a great hand before Andre Russell (24:12b, 2x2, 2x6) and Shreyas Iyer (28:10b, 1x4, 3x6) finished the innings on a high. Kolkata posted a gigantic total of 261 for six on the board. For Punjab, Arshdeep Singh was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of two for 45. 

Punjab set the stage on fire right from the start. Prabhsimran Singh (54:20b, 4x4, 5x6) and Jonny Bairstow added 93 runs for the opening wicket inside the powerplay. After Prabhsimran got out, Rilee Rossouw (26:16b, 1x4, 2x6) played a vital hand as well. Bairstow then slammed a magnificent century and Shashank Singh (68 not out: 2x4, 8x6) supported him well as Punjab chased the target with eight wickets in hand. In all a historic 42 sixes were struck in the game. 

Match Stats

Kolkata Knight Riders Fall of wickets: 1-138 (Sunil Narine - 10.2 ov), 2-163 (Philip Salt - 12.3 ov), 3-203 (Andre Russell - 15.3 ov), 4-246 (Shreyas Iyer - 18.3 ov), 5-253 (Rinku Singh - 19.2 ov), 6-261 (Venkatesh Iyer - 19.6 ov)

Punjab Kings Fall of wickets: 1-93 (Prabhsimran Singh - 5.6 ov), 2-178 (Rilee Rossouw - 12.3 ov)

Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders

Punjab Kings

Match Details

Date - 2024-04-26 14:00:00

Venue - Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Toss - Punjab Kings elected to bowl

Umpires - Anil Chaudhary (India), Yeshwant Barde (India), Rohan Pandit (India TV)

© CricDirect 2024