< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2024 Match 40: Delhi Capitals edge Gujarat Titans by 4 runs in high scoring thriller

Delhi Capitals edged Gujarat Titans by 4 runs, in high scoring thriller, at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, today, in Match 40 IPL 2024

Match Summary

Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat Titans, Match 40

Delhi Capitals 224/4 (20 ov)

Gujarat Titans 220/8 (20 ov)

Result - Delhi Capitals won by 4 runs.



Match Highlights

After being asked to bat, Delhi posted 224 for four in their 20 overs and in response Gujarat finished on 220 for eight in their 20 overs.

Delhi was well served by a 113 run fourth wicket stand between Axar Patel (66: 43b, 5x4, 4x6) and skipper Rishabh Pant (88 n.o.: 43b, 5x4, 8x6).

Then towards the end Pant added an unbeaten 67 runs for the fifth wicket with Tristan Stubbs. Delhi ended on 224 for four in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowler was Sandeep Warrier (3-15).

In their response, Gujarat was well served by a 82 run second wicket stand between Wriddhiman Saha and Sai Sudarsan (65: 39b, 7x4, 2x6). Then there was a collapse.

David Miller then took charge of the chase as he made a rapid 55 off 23 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. In the end Rashid Khan played a valiant hand as he tried to take Gujarat across the line.

But it was not to be. Gujarat ended on 220 for eight in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the most successful bowlers were Rasikh Salam Dar (3-44) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-29).

Match Stats

Delhi Capitals Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Jake Fraser McGurk - 3.2 ov), 2-36 (Prithvi Shaw - 3.5 ov), 3-44 (Shai Hope - 5.4 ov), 4-157 (Axar Patel - 16.6 ov)

Gujarat Titans Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Shubman Gill - 1.3 ov), 2-95 (Wriddhiman Saha - 9.4 ov), 3-98 (Azmatullah Omarzai - 10.1 ov), 4-121 (Sai Sudharsan - 12.4 ov), 5-139 (Shahrukh Khan - 14.1 ov), 6-152 (Rahul Tewatia - 15.6 ov), 7-181 (David Miller - 17.3 ov), 8-206 (Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore - 18.6 ov)

Playing XI

Delhi Capitals

Gujarat Titans

Match Details

Date - 2024-04-24 14:00:00

Venue - Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Toss - Gujarat Titans elected to bowl

Umpires - KN Ananthapadmanabhan (India), Ulhas Gandhe (India), Akshay Totre (India TV)

© CricDirect 2024