< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CWC 2023 Final: Head breaks India hearts as Australia win sixth World Cup title beating India by 6 wickets

Opener Travis Head hit a sparkling 137 to power Australia to a record-extending sixth World Cup title with a convincing six-wicket win over India in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

Match Summary

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Final

India 240/10 (50 ov)

Australia 241/4 (43 ov)

Result - Australia won by 6 wickets


Match Analysis

Australia lifted their sixth ICC Men's Cricket World Cup as they thrashed India by six wickets in the final of the 2023 edition. The final of the tournament took place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. India after being put into bat first were bundled out for just 240. Australia on the other hand chased the target in 43 overs.

Skipper Rohit Sharma (47:31b, 4x4, 3x6) yet again gave a blazing start to the team and played some breathtaking shots. He added 30 runs in the opening stand with Shubman Gill, who managed just four runs. Virat Kohli (54:63b, 4x4) chipped in with a valiant fifty and added 46 runs with the captain. Shreyas Iyer couldn’t get going as well and India were left tottering at 81 for three. KL Rahul (66:107b, 1x4) held the fort and batted well. He added 61 runs with Virat and made sure that India got some handy runs. Suryakumar Yadav (18:28b, 1x4), and Kuldeep Yadav (10 not out: 18b) played vital hands as India got themselves to 240. For Australia, Mitchell Starc bagged three wickets whereas Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood bagged two wickets each.

Australia lost wickets and were left tottering at 47 for three. David Warner, Mitchell Marsh and Steve Smith (4:9b, 1x4) fell early. It seemed that it would be a nail-biter but after that Australia didn’t put a foot wrong. Travis Head (137:120b, 15x4, 4x6) and Marnus Labuschagne (58 not out:110b, 4x4) played magnificently well and bailed their team out of trouble. They added 192 runs partnership and took their team home with six wickets in hand.

 Match Stats

India Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Shubman Gill - 4.2 ov), 2-76 (Rohit Sharma - 9.4 ov), 3-81 (Shreyas Iyer - 10.2 ov), 4-148 (Virat Kohli - 28.3 ov), 5-178 (Ravindra Jadeja - 35.5 ov), 6-203 (KL Rahul - 41.3 ov), 7-211 (Mohammed Shami - 43.4 ov), 8-214 (Jasprit Bumrah - 44.5 ov), 9-226 (Suryakumar Yadav - 47.3 ov), 10-240 (Kuldeep Yadav - 49.6 ov)

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-16 (David Warner - 1.1 ov), 2-41 (Mitchell Marsh - 4.3 ov), 3-47 (Steven Smith - 6.6 ov), 4-239 (Travis Head - 42.5 ov)

Playing XI




Match Details:

Date: Sunday, November 19, 2023 08:30

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Toss: Australia elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Richard Illingworth (England) Richard Kettleborough (England) Joel Wilson (West Indies TV)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

© CricDirect 2023