< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Pakistan triumph against New Zealand in the fifth T20I

Pakistan triumph against New Zealand in the fifth T20I
Pakistan triumph against New Zealand in the fifth T20I

In the 5th T20I between Pakistan and New Zealand, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. They scored a total of 134 runs, with Mohammad Rizwan leading the batting innings with 38 runs.


Match Summary

New Zealand 92/10 (17.2 ov)

Pakistan 134/8 (20 ov)

Pakistan won by 42 runs.


 New Zealand's chase was led by Glenn Phillips, who scored 26 runs. He played a crucial role at the death, scoring 16 runs off 8 balls. However, Iftikhar Ahmed bowled exceptionally well and took 3 wickets. In the end, Pakistan emerged victorious by 42 .

Iftikhar Ahmed showcased his bowling prowess by taking a total of 3 wickets during the match. In the 13th over, he dismissed Tim Seifert by trapping him lbw, providing a breakthrough for his team. Ahmed demonstrated his accuracy and skill, causing trouble for the New Zealand batsmen.

In the 15th over, Ahmed struck again, this time dismissing Ish Sodhi. The wicket came as a result of an excellent catch, showcasing Ahmed's ability to create opportunities and capitalize on them. His contribution to the team's success was evident as he continued to outwit the New Zealand batsmen.

Iftikhar Ahmed emerged as the standout player and was awarded the prestigious Player of the Match title. His exceptional performance with the ball played a crucial role in Pakistan's victory.

Match Stats

Pakistan  Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Haseebullah Khan - 0.3 ov), 2-53 (Babar Azam - 9.5 ov), 3-88 (Fakhar Zaman - 12.6 ov), 4-91 (Mohammad Nawaz - 13.6 ov), 5-91 (Mohammad Rizwan - 14.1 ov), 6-104 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 16.3 ov), 7-114 (Shaheen Afridi - 18.2 ov), 8-130 (Sahibzada Farhan - 19.3 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Rachin Ravindra - 1.4 ov), 2-30 (Finn Allen - 4.6 ov), 3-53 (Will Young - 9.3 ov), 4-54 (Mark Chapman - 10.1 ov), 5-64 (Tim Seifert - 12.5 ov), 6-69 (Mitchell Santner - 13.4 ov), 7-70 (Matt Henry - 14.1 ov), 8-72 (Ish Sodhi - 14.5 ov), 9-92 (Glenn Phillips - 17.1 ov), 10-92 (Lockie Ferguson - 17.2 ov)

Playing XI

New Zealand: 



Match Details:

Date: Sunday, January 21, 2024 00:00

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Toss: Pakistan elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Chris Brown (New Zealand) Wayne Knights (New Zealand) Kim Cotton (New Zealand TV)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

© CricDirect 2024