< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CWC23 Match 38: Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka at World Cup after Mathews 'timed out' row

Sri Lanka batsman Angelo Mathews became the first player to be given "timed out" in the 146-year history of international cricket on Monday in a fiery World Cup clash won by Bangladesh.

Match Summary

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, ICC Cricket World Cup

Bangladesh 282/7 (41.1 ov)

Sri Lanka 279/10 (49.3 ov)

Result - Bangladesh won by 3 wickets


Chasing 280 for victory, Bangladesh rode on a 169-run stand between Najmul Hasan Shanto (90) and skipper Shakib Al Hasan (82) to reach their target with three wickets and 53 balls to spare.

The result sealed Sri Lanka's exit from the semi-final race but Mathews' dismissal overshadowed the result after he was adjudged "timed out" for taking longer than the regulation two minutes to take strike when he arrived at the crease to bat.

The dismissal contributed to a tense atmosphere.

Shanto and Sri Lanka's Sadeera Samarawickrama were involved in a verbal exchange and had to be separated by the umpires.

Later, Sri Lankan players surrounded the umpires demanding a ball change as the game got away from them.

Mathews had come into bat after the fall of Samarawickrama in the 25th over but was unable to secure his helmet strap tightly enough, an action which delayed the resumption of play.

As a result, Shakib appealed for the wicket.

On-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth talked to both teams before the decision was upheld.

The 36-year-old Mathews reluctantly trudged off with most spectators appearing bemused by the decision.

Shakib was later voted man of the match.

"Mathews' dismissal was not good for the spirit of cricket," said Sri Lanka century-maker Charith Asalanka.

Former South African fast bowler Dale Steyn writing on X, formerly Twitter, said: "Well, that wasn't cool".

Ex-India batsman Gautam Gambhir described the episode as "absolutely pathetic".

Match Stats

Sri Lanka Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Kusal Perera - 0.6 ov), 2-66 (Kusal Mendis - 11.3 ov), 3-72 (Pathum Nissanka - 12.4 ov), 4-135 (Sadeera Samarawickrama - 24.2 ov), 5-135 (Angelo Mathews - 24.3 ov), 6-213 (Dhananjaya de Silva - 37.6 ov), 7-258 (Maheesh Theekshana - 45.6 ov), 8-278 (Charith Asalanka - 48.4 ov), 9-278 (Kasun Rajitha - 48.6 ov), 10-279 (Dushmantha Chameera - 49.3 ov)

Bangladesh Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Tanzid Hasan - 2.1 ov), 2-41 (Litton Das - 6.2 ov), 3-210 (Shakib Al Hasan - 31.1 ov), 4-211 (Najmul Hossain Shanto - 33.2 ov), 5-249 (Mushfiqur Rahim - 37.4 ov), 6-255 (Mahmudullah - 38.3 ov), 7-269 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz - 40.1 ov)

Playing XI

BANGLADESH - Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim(WK), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan(C), Towhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Tanzim Sakib, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam

SRI LANKA - Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis(WK/C), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera

Match Details

Date - 2023-11-06 08:30:00

Venue - Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Toss - Bangladesh elected to bowl

Umpires - Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Richard Illingworth (England), Nitin Menon (India TV)

Match Referee - Richie Richardson (West Indies)

© CricDirect 2023