< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CPL 2023: Jamaica Tallawahs beat Saint Lucia Kings by 122 runs

The Jamaica Tallawahs all but assured themselves of a place in the Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Playoffs following a comprehensive 122 run victory over the Saint Lucia Kings.

Match Summary

Jamaica Tallawahs vs Saint Lucia Kings, 29th Match

Jamaica Tallawahs 201/5 (20 ov)

Saint Lucia Kings 79/10 (15 ov)

Jamaica Tallawahs won by 122 runs.



The Saint Lucia Kings won the toss and opted to field first and that backfired as they ran into an Alex Hales storm. Hales produced his career best to propel the Tallawahs to 201/5 a total that always looked impenetrable.

The Kings were never in the game from that moment and the Tallawahs wrapped up victory inside 15 overs bowling the Kings out for 79.

The Tallawahs were hampered by the enforced absence of captain Brandon King, however Hales stepped up to the plate to blaze his way to his highest individual T20 career score of 119 not out.

Hales and Imad Wasim put together a magnificent partnership of 116 from 52 balls to help set a target of 202 to win – an equation that always looked likely to be enough to secure their spot in the Caribbean Premier League eliminator.

In reply the Kings were struggling from the start of the PowerPlay, Mohammed Amir dismissed makeshift opener Roshon Primus and Leonardo Julien before Chris Green got in on the act to trap Bhanuka Rajapaksa in front for 22 and Sean Williams for a duck.

The Kings were bowled out for 79 with Chris Green the wicket taker in chief, leading the way with a devastating spell of 4/15.                  

Match Stats

Jamaica Tallawahs Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Kirk McKenzie - 5.2 ov), 2-68 (Steven Taylor - 9.3 ov), 3-84 (Shamarh Brooks - 11.1 ov), 4-200 (Imad Wasim - 19.5 ov), 5-201 (Fabian Allen - 19.6 ov)

Saint Lucia Kings Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Roshon Primus - 2.1 ov), 2-15 (Leonardo Julien - 2.6 ov), 3-44 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa - 5.2 ov), 4-44 (Sean Williams - 5.3 ov), 5-49 (Sikandar Raza - 7.2 ov), 6-53 (Roston Chase - 8.1 ov), 7-57 (Colin Munro - 9.4 ov), 8-79 (Matthew Forde - 14.1 ov), 9-79 (McKenny Clarke - 14.3 ov), 10-79 (Alzarri Joseph - 14.6 ov)


Playing XIs

Jamaica Tallawahs: Alex Hales, Kirk McKenzie, Shamarh Brooks(WK), Imad Wasim(C), Fabian Allen, Raymon Reifer, Shamar Springer, Steven Taylor, Chris Green, Mohammad Amir, Hayden Walsh

Saint Lucia Kings: Leonardo Julien(WK), Sean Williams, Colin Munro, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Roston Chase, Sikandar Raza(C), Roshon Primus, Alzarri Joseph, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde, McKenny Clarke


Match Details:

Date: Sunday, September 17, 2023 15:00

Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana, Providence

Toss: Saint Lucia Kings elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Carl Tuckett (West Indies)Patrick Gustard West Indies)Zahid Bassarath (West Indies TV)

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath (West Indies)

© CricDirect 2023