< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies Sets Records in Victory Over Australia in 3rd T20I

Sherfane Rutherford in action for West Indies
Sherfane Rutherford in action for West Indies

Andre Russell and Sherfane Rutherford formed a record-breaking sixth-wicket partnership in a Twenty20 international, guiding the West Indies to a 37-run victory over Australia in their final clash on Tuesday.

Despite a shaky start after winning the toss and opting to bat, with three wickets down in the opening three overs, Russell (71 off 29 balls) and Rutherford (unbeaten 67 off 40) orchestrated a remarkable comeback. Their 139-run partnership set a new standard, propelling the visitors to 220-6 in Perth.

Australia, led by David Warner's 81 in his final home appearance, started well but faltered after losing three quick wickets for just three runs. Despite efforts from Glenn Maxwell and Tim David, the chase fell short, with Australia managing only 183-5 in reply.

Reflecting on the match, Russell expressed satisfaction with the team's performance, highlighting their unity and resilience. Australia's captain, Mitchell Marsh, acknowledged the West Indies' strength, conceding defeat graciously.

The victory marked the end of a closely contested series, with Australia winning the first match in Hobart and sealing the series with a victory in Adelaide.

Match Summary

Australia vs West Indies, 3rd T20I

Australia 183/5 (20 ov)

West Indies 220/6 (20 ov)

Result - West Indies won by 37 runs.



Match Stats

West Indies Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Johnson Charles - 0.6 ov), 2-7 (Nicholas Pooran - 1.6 ov), 3-17 (Kyle Mayers - 2.5 ov), 4-72 (Roston Chase - 7.5 ov), 5-79 (Rovman Powell - 8.4 ov), 6-218 (Andre Russell - 19.4 ov)

Australia Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Mitchell Marsh - 6.3 ov), 2-114 (Aaron Hardie - 12.3 ov), 3-116 (David Warner - 13.1 ov), 4-117 (Josh Inglis - 13.6 ov), 5-152 (Glenn Maxwell - 17.2 ov)

Playing XI


West Indies 


Match Details

Date: Tuesday, February 13, 2024 08:00

Venue: Perth Stadium, Perth

Toss: West Indies elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Michael Graham-Smith (Australia) Sam Nogajski (Australia) Shawn Craig(Australia TV)

Match Referee: David Boon (Australia)

© CricDirect 2024