< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

New Zealand's clean sweep of Bangladesh caps off World Cup preparation

Captain Najmul Hossain Shanto is leading Bangladesh for the first time
Captain Najmul Hossain Shanto is leading Bangladesh for the first time

New Zealand's preparation for the World Cup received a significant boost as they completed a clean sweep of Bangladesh in the three-match series, securing a 2-0 victory with a convincing seven-wicket win in the final one-day international held in Dhaka.

Match Summary

Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI

Bangladesh 171/10 (34.3 ov)

New Zealand 175/3 (34.5 ov)

New Zealand won by 7 wickets


Will Young and Adam Milne starred with bat and ball respectively, with Young hitting 70 off 80 balls to guide New Zealand to 175-3.

Milne's 4-34 restricted the hosts to 171 in 34.3 overs at Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

Stand-in skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto scored highest with 76 runs for Bangladesh, but was unable to give the hosts a competitive score with a lack of support from the other end after he opted to bat first.

New Zealand made light of their target despite losing Finn Allen (28) and Dean Foxcroft (0) to Shoriful Islam in consecutive balls, as Young put on 81 runs with in-form Henry Nicholls for the third wicket.

By the time left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed bowled Young, New Zealand were well in control.

Nicholls, who made 44 and 49 runs in the previous two matches, went on to complete 50 this time, with a single off Mahmudullah Riyad.

Tom Blundell (23 not out) hit a boundary to take New Zealand home, with 91 balls to spare.

Cole McConchie and Trent Boult earlier complemented Milne, who was playing his first match of the series, claiming 2-18 and 2-33 respectively to deny Bangladesh any serious momentum in the contest.

The Kiwis, who lost the previous two series in Bangladesh 4-0 in 2010 and 3-0 in 2013, won the second match by 86 runs on Saturday. The first match was washed out by rain.

"The World Cup is just around the corner -- to come up with the first win since 2008 is great," said Young, the man of the match, in a briefing afterwards.

"This group plays a lot together, we gel well and it's a lot of fun," he added.

Young said that while he could not predict what conditions the Kiwis would face in India when the World Cup opens on October 5, he hoped "it's similar to these".

Bangladesh initially rested key players but, with the series at stake, they brought back stalwarts Najmul, Mushfiqur Rahim and Shoriful Islam. However, it did little to improve their performance.

Najmul, leading Bangladesh for the first time, held down one end to score his fifth ODI fifty but wickets kept falling regularly from the other end.

"Our batsmen didn't score big runs," Najmul said. "Hopefully, next time batters take responsibility and bat long."

Milne and Boult struck early to reduce Bangladesh to 35-3, before Najmul and Mushfiqur offered a brief resistance with a 53-run fourth wicket stand.

Mushfiqur's dismissal to Lockie Ferguson for 18 put New Zealand back on top and the visitors did not lose the momentum again.

McConchie ended any real chance of Bangladesh lodging a fighting score by dismissing Najmul with his second ball of the day, with the left-hander hitting 10 fours in his 84-ball innings.

Match Stats

Bangladesh Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Zakir Hasan - 1.3 ov), 2-8 (Tanzid Hasan - 2.1 ov), 3-35 (Towhid Hridoy - 5.3 ov), 4-88 (Mushfiqur Rahim - 15.1 ov), 5-137 (Mahmudullah - 24.1 ov), 6-156 (Mahedi Hasan - 27.5 ov), 7-168 (Najmul Hossain Shanto - 31.2 ov), 8-169 (Hasan Mahmud - 32.1 ov), 9-171 (Nasum Ahmed - 33.4 ov), 10-171 (Shoriful Islam - 34.3 ov)

New Zealand Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Finn Allen - 9.2 ov), 2-49 (Dean Foxcroft - 9.3 ov), 3-130 (Will Young - 29.1 ov)

Playing XI

BANGLADESH - Najmul Hossain Shanto(C), Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim(WK), Zakir Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmedm, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed

NEW ZEALAND - Finn Allen, Will Young, Dean Foxcroft, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(WK), Rachin Ravindra, Cole McConchie, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson(C), Trent Boult

Match Details

Date - 2023-09-26 08:00:00

Venue - Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

Toss - Bangladesh elected to bat

Umpires - Gazi Sohel (Bangladesh), Nitin Menon (India), Marais Erasmus (South Africa TV)

Match Referee - Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)

© CricDirect 2023