< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's T20 World Cup Match 14: New Zealand crushed by Afghanistan

Afghanistan players celebrate
Afghanistan players celebrate

Afghanistan demolished New Zealand by 84 runs in the 14th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. 

Match Summary

Afghanistan: 159-6 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-103 (Ibrahim Zadran-14.3 ov), 2-127(Azmatullah Omarzai-16.6 ov), 3-136 (Mohammad Nabi-17.4 ov), 4-156 (Rashid Khan-19.1 ov), 5-156 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-19.2 ov), 6-158 (Gulbadin Naib-19.5 ov) 


New Zealand: 75 (15.2)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Finn Allen-0.1 ov), 2-18 (Devon Conway-2.4 ov), 3-28 (Daryl Mitchell-4.2 ov), 4-33 (Kane Williamson-6.1 ov), 5-43 (Mark Chapman-8.1 ov), 6-43 (Michael Bracewell-8.2 ov), 7-53 (Glenn Phillips-9.4 ov), 8-59 (Mitchell Santner-11.6 ov), 9-63 (Lockie Ferguson-12.6 ov), 10-75 (Matt Henry-15.2 ov)


Match Highlights

The Group C match, which was played at the Providence Stadium in Guyana, saw Afghanistan batting first after losing the toss and posting 159 for six. In response, New Zealand were all out for 75.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (80:56b, 5x4, 5x6) and Ibrahim Zadran (44:41b, 3x4, 2x6) continued their good form with the bat and took Afghanistan off to a flying start with the bat. The Gurbaz-Zadran duo added 103 runs for the opening two partnerships and set the platform for others. Azmatullah Omarzai (22:13b, 1x4, 2x6) played a vital hand for his team while others failed to capitalise. Based on the opening stand and innings by Omarzai, Afghanistan posted a total of 159 for six.

Afghanistan then didn’t let New Zealand batters settle at all in the chase. They picked wickets right from the start and asserted their authority over the game. Fazalhaq Farooqi and skipper Rashid Khan picked four wickets each as New Zealand got bundled out for just 75 runs. Glenn Phillips with his 18-run knock was the top run-scorer for his team as Kiwis lost the game by the massive margin of 84 runs.


Match Stats

Playing XI

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan (captain), Karim Janat, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi


Match Details

Toss: New Zealand, elected to field

Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana

Start time: 1130 hrs GMT

Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Kumar Dharmasena (On-field Umpires); Rashid Riaz (TV Umpire); Adrian Holdstock  (Reserve umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match Referee) 

© CricDirect 2024