< >
Cricket Betting us
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

CWC 23 Match 8: Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by six wickets at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad today.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka: 344-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Kusal Perera-1.4 ov), 2-107 (Pathum Nissanka-17.2 ov), 3-218 (Kusal Mendis-28.5 ov), 4-229 (Charith Asalanka-30.1 ov), 5-294 (Dhananjaya de Silva-41.1 ov), 6-324 (Dasun Shanaka-46.3 ov), 7-335 (Sadeera Samarawickrama-47.6 ov), 8-343 (Maheesh Theekshana-49.2 ov), 9-344 (Dunith Wellalage-49.6 ov)

Pakistan: 345-4 (48.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Imam-ul-Haq-3.3 ov), 2-37 (Babar Azam-7.2 ov), 3-213 (Abdullah Shafique-33.1 ov), 4-308 (Saud Shakeel-44.3 ov)

Result - Pakistan won by 6 wickets


Opting to bat Sri Lanka piled up a massive score of 344 for nine. Pakistan brought their best with the bat as they chased the target in 48.2 overs.

Sri Lanka yet again had a poor opening stand as Kusal Perera fell for a duck. But Pathum Nissanka (51:61b, 7x4, 1x6) and Kusal Mendis (122:77b, 14x4, 6x6) made sure that they utilise the good batting pitch to full extent. They added 102 runs partnership for the second wicket. Before Sadeera Samarawickrama (108:89b, 11x4, 2x6) blasted a century to put his side on top. In the end, Dhananjaya de Silva (25:34b, 3x4), Dasun Shanaka (12:18b) and Dunith Wellalage (10:8b, 1x4) made handy contributions that powered Sri Lanka to a total of 344 for nine. For Pakistan, Hasan Ali was the pick of bowlers as he bagged a four-wicket haul.

In the chase, Pakistan was jolted with early blows as Imam ul Haq and Babar Azam couldn’t make a mark. After that, Abdullah Shafique (113:103b, 10x4, 3x6) and Mohammad Rizwan joined hands to bring their team back into the game. The duo batted superbly as they added 175 runs for the fourth wicket which put Sri Lanka under tremendous pressure. While Shafique was back in the hut, Rizwan (131 n.o.: 121b, 8x4, 3x6) remained unbeaten till the end and guided his team to a six-wicket win. Saud Shakeel (31:30b, 2x4) batted well in the middle as Pakistan completed their second consecutive win of the tournament.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama (wicket-keeper), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka

Match Details

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to bat
Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
Start time: 0830 hrs GMT
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Chris Gaffaney (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Rod Tucker (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© CricDirect 2023